30 Awesome Things

I can’t remember where I first saw the idea of a “reverse life list,” but I thought it might be fun to spend my 30th birthday mulling over some awesome things I’ve already done. Here goes:

  1. Eat sushi in Japan

  2. Hike in Olympic National Forest

  3. Make pie crust from scratch using my Nanny’s recipe

  4. Shoot a gun

  5. Play in a concert band, marching band, trios, and quartets

  6. Have my toes nibbled by doctor fish in Okinawa

    Doctor Fish

  7. Crochet a gift for someone

  8. Go parasailing

    parasailing cancun2

  9. Learn to shoot in manual

  10. Earn a black belt

  11. Hold a monkey

    jennmonkey9

  12. Ride a roller coaster

  13. Complete a 365 project

    5

  14. Visit 35 states

  15. Go wine tasting in Napa Valley

  16. Take Tim to England

    Photobomb 2

  17. Picnic at a winery

  18. Develop my own film

    negatives

  19. Try skiing (never. again.)

  20. Go whale watching

    WW24 T

  21. Sing karaoke

  22. Snorkel in Cancun (including a close encounter with a barracuda)

  23. Meet a celebrity (twice – only one time did I make an ass of myself)

    Meeting Rob Riggle

  24. Learn to drive a stick

  25. Photograph a family

  26. Swim with dolphins

  27. Run a 5k5k2
  28. Lie in a hammock on a Caribbean island with a rum drink

  29. Donate my hair

  30. Make a new person who is pretty much the best ever
    tickle
    Check.
4 thoughts on “30 Awesome Things

  1. This is awesome. Regular bucket lists seem to crazy-depressing to me because I feel like there’s no way in hell I’ll ever actually get to do all those things. I think this is actually more motivating, because I’m basically in competition with my past self. Past self got to do a ton of awesome stuff. Present self needs to get crackin’. :)

    • Exactly – it’s a friendly challenge to myself to make the next 30 years even more awesome :)

      I felt the same way about the “bucket list,” like it was too overwhelming. Then I read someone who described it more like a menu of cool things to pick and choose from. I like that a lot better.

  2. Pingback: 31 Amazing Things | Operation Grown Up

Leave a Reply

