{52 Self Portraits} Week 8

It’s been an exciting week, photography-wise. My film class ended on Tuesday, and I ended up with 6 large prints of photos I made myself, from start to finish. I found that making prints, alone in the darkroom while playing Mumford & Sons and Regina Spektor on my iphone, is pretty effective therapy after a crappy day.

On top of that, I got my first medium-format negatives back from my Holga. It was like looking through a scrapbook I didn’t know I had made. The most exciting discovery was the roll from my wedding, taken by my mom after I gave her a 10 second run down of how to manually advance the film, and she looked at me like I was crazy. Seeing new wedding photos, a year and a half after the fact, is pretty magical.

Anyway! This week, since I’m ridiculously excited about the Holga stuff, I decided to post a picture of a self-portrait, taken on a cruise last May (Hi Megs!) and developed this month. I spent all day doing poor-man’s negative scanning (glass + binder clips + blank Word document + DSLR + editing in Picnik), so these are just previews of what the prints will actually look like. I plan to post many more of these after I get prints made. Yay, Holga!

********************************************************************************

8/52

Leave a Reply

