{52 Self-Portraits} Week 1

I’m equal parts excited and nervous to introduce my new photography project: a year of weekly self-portraits. Since my 365 project ended, I’ve found that I haven’t been motivated to make time to shoot, even though it’s one of my favorite things to do. I needed another project to keep me going.

A self-portrait project had been on my mind for a while, but it just seemed kind of…exhibitionist? Narcissistic, even? But I got more excited about it when I discovered Xanthe Berkeley’s 52 self-portraits. I can’t say it any better than she can: “Sometimes it’s a struggle to not come across as vain, but instead I like to acknowledge this journey as learning about who you are and how you see yourself.

This isn’t just an excuse to put my face on the internet 52 times. In fact, I’m doing this in spite of that. I am excited to have a week to think up ideas for a shot and try them out. I want to get better at basic things like composition, focus, and especially lighting. Most of all though, this is me becoming more comfortable with myself and maybe, in some small way, inspiring others to do the same.

So…here we go! My first of 52 self-portraits:

1/52

4 thoughts on “{52 Self-Portraits} Week 1

  1. Pingback: {gratitude.2012} Intro | Team McFord

  2. So sweet to know I’ve inspired you, thank you… all the best with your project, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it even on the days when you struggle. Happy 2012 xxxx

Leave a Reply

