{Life List} Crochet a Gift for Someone

One of the items on my Life List is to crochet a gift for someone. I’ve started crocheting more in the past year and have gotten a lot better. Not good enough to sell my stuff, and I’m not sure I would want to, but I think my wares are sometimes good enough to give as gifts.


I’ve actually given several gifts in the last month, but I thought I’d write about the one I actually have photos of – the skinny scarf I made for my Aunty Lynne.

The pattern was made up by my mom (and grandmother?) long ago, forgotten by both of us, and then cobbled together from what we could remember and what looked right. I’m terrible at reading and following patterns, so I’m confident this won’t make a whole lot of sense, but it goes approximately like this:

*Start with 26 chain
*1 double crochet (dc) into 4th chain
*2 dc, 1 sc, 2 dc into 2nd chain (in other words, skip one chain, then do this into the next chain)
*2 dc, 1 sc, 2 dc into 4th chain
*2 dc, 1 sc, 2 dc into 4th chain
*2 dc, 1 sc, 2 dc into 4th chain
*1 dc into 2nd chain
*1 dc into 2nd chain (should be last stitch of the row)
*3 chain, turn, repeat pattern


I added fringe to the ends by taking the rest of the yarn, wrapping it around a small book, and cutting it so I had lots of strands of the same length. Then I took two or three of the strands and slip knotted them into each stitch of the last row.

I use Luv This Yarn for scarves, because it’s the perfect softness.

Lynne seemed to like the scarf, and even wore it around on our outings, bless her heart!


I think my next crochet goal is to be able to do a circle, something that has eluded me so far. I’d love to be able to make a hat. I also want to perfect the fingerless mittens I’ve been working on, so that I don’t have to make four mittens to get two good ones.

I think it’s funny that my two first Life List entries have been about crafting. Time to do some other stuff!

2 thoughts on “{Life List} Crochet a Gift for Someone

Leave a Reply

