{Life List} Make a Vision Board

Putting my Life List on the blog is something I want to do eventually, but it’s a pretty daunting prospect. I have over 100 things now, and I know I don’t want to share every single one. So that will come later. But for now, I want to start writing about the things that I get to cross off. The most recent of these was to make a vision board.

I got the idea from Karen Walrond at Chookooloonks. I’ve been reading her blog for months and I absolutely love her photography and her words. She wrote about how she and her daughter make vision boards at the start of each new year. They are supposed to be a crafty, visual representation of what you want for yourself for the year. It also involves cutting pictures out of magazines and lots of mod podge, so Megan, Stephanie and I were immediately on board. We also wanted to throw ourselves a softball as far as our life lists were concerned, and this was something we knew we would do.


We spent a few hours just flipping through magazines and ripping out anything that caught our eye. If something made me smile, or reminded me of something happy or a goal I have, I tore it out. I also had a one-word resolution in mind for myself, so I tore out anything that fit with that. By the end of the night we all had a huge pile of pages and photos and we started cutting out the stuff we wanted.

Then we went to bed. Because we are old.

The next day we started arranging our cut-outs on our canvas and gluing them down with mod podge. I had never played with mod podge before, and by the end of this project I wanted to mod podge pretty much everything in my life.


When we were finished, we were all in love with our vision boards. Mine is hanging in my room and it’s the first thing I see when I wake up. On it are things that remind me how lucky I am and that I want to work on enjoying the moment in 2011.


So now I get to cross this off my Life List, but I think it would be nice to make one of these every year.

More Life List posts to come!

12 thoughts on “{Life List} Make a Vision Board

  1. I love love love how awesome ours all turned out…and what great reflections they were of each of us. I need to find some blogging motivation! I also need to find that list of stuff I wanted to blog about, that would be a start.

    • Me too! We should make this a tradition. Maybe the same weekend as ThanksHalloweeMas?

      I say you start a new list of things to blog about, and start blogging about them. Here are some possible topics: life listing, vision boarding, monkeys, Hoblobs, sushi. Just off the top. I’m here to help.

  2. I just posted my vision board tonight, and it prompted me to go out and look for other peoples’ vision boards for inspiration, and I just happened to stumble upon yours. I LOVE IT!!! It also looks like you had lot of fun creating your board!!! :-)

    If you ever get around to publishing your life list, let me know – I am ALWAYS interested in reading other people’s – I have my list posted on my blog, and it just seems to get longer every year!!! I will have to be something like 215 years old to get all of them done!!! LOL!!

    Thanks for the posting – I will keep following your blog from now on!!! Anyway, have a GREAT night!!! ;-)
    ~Christina

  3. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this blog. It’s
    simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance. I must say you’ve done a awesome job with this.

    Additionally, the blog loads extremely fast for me on
    Chrome. Excellent Blog!

  4. When someone writes an piece of writing he/she keeps the plan of a user in his/her mind that how a user can know it.
    Thus that’s why this article is amazing. Thanks!

  5. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back
    to your blog? My website is in the exact same area of interest as
    yours and my users would really benefit from some of the
    information you provide here. Please let me know if this okay with you.
    Regards!

  6. Pingback: 2014. | Team McFord

Leave a Reply

