England 2010


England was a whirlwind of a trip. I can’t believe we even all made it there at the same time – the day we flew out, Heathrow had canceled all but 1/3 of their incoming flights, and we just happened to be on one of the lucky ones. I never have that kind of travel luck! On top of that, Tim’s flight from Helsinki to London got canceled, and we were hearing that he may not make it until after Christmas. Helsinki ended up canceling 15 of their 16 remaining flights to Heathrow that day, and Tim managed to get on the one that made it. He was there to meet us at the airport. Incredible!

We spent lots of time with family, ate fish and chips (many, many times…), saw castles, drank lots of cider, and visited some of my favorite places. Seeing Tim hang out with my Grandad is just priceless, and I loved every minute of it. I loved eating in pubs and going up to the bar to order dinner. I loved the ducks that wander up to you demanding bread. I loved eating cheese on toast for breakfast. I loved seeing Tim get excited about English history. I loved being able to order tea and not having to specify that I mean hot black tea with milk.

And I LOVED taking photos. I have so much work to do, but I know I won’t be able to concentrate on anything until I get all my England photos edited. So that’s my project for the week. I will be sharing many of them here, and more on facebook. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

