Marine Corps Birthday Ball {Part I}

One ball down, one more to go. Friday night was more fun than I thought it was going to be. I have a feeling the amount of fun was a direct result of the amount of Orion consumed, which was…a medium amount.

Of course I had to take some photos while we were getting ready. An hour before the ball, when most wives were probably getting home from their manicures and hair appointments, I still had no idea what I was doing with my hair. I would also like to say that holy smokes, Tim’s dress uniform is COMPLICATED. It took him longer to get ready than it did me.
I was so proud of Tim – he did a great job in the ceremony! I didn’t have a great vantage point to take pictures; in fact, I felt weird taking pictures at all, except that everyone else was.

(Um, he’s the really fuzzy one all the way in the back on the left.)

Maybe it was the booze, but I surprised myself by actually having conversations with the people at our table and enjoying it. I am usually extremely anxious in forced merriment situations like that.

There were two things that disappointed me that night. One was the food. We paid quite a bit for those tickets, and I had high expectations for my tilapia and stuffed crab shell. Dinner fail. The other thing that struck me was all the insecurity that seemed to be oozing from every woman there. Every time I complimented someone’s dress or said they looked beautiful, I got a reluctant thank you followed by a list of things that they didn’t like about their appearance. “Oh thanks, but I hate what the stylist did with my hair, and my dress doesn’t fit right, and my shoes don’t match, etc.” It was as if they were making excuses for why they didn’t look more beautiful. I get feeling insecure, I get low self-esteem – I struggle with them every day. But jeez! I wish more women would just let themselves feel beautiful on a night like that without having to constantly put themselves down. My dress sure didn’t fit quite right – I got it on sale off the rack at JCPenney and it’s clearly made for an A-cup. I threw some bobby pins in my hair 30 minutes before the event, and I realized shortly thereafter that I had no bronzer for my cheeks. BUT – I felt beautiful that night, and when someone told me I looked nice, I said “thank you” and meant it.

THAT BEING SAID, some advice for ladies attending a Marine Corps Ball in the future: 1. Do not wear a dress that comes above your knee. Just don’t do it. 2. This should go without saying, but DO NOT wear a dress that shows what I will refer to as underboob. Not classy, ladies.

Rant over. Here are some more photos!

*Top photo taken by Sgt. Nichel James, one of Tim’s Marines (with whom I bonded when we realized we had the same camera AND were in love with the same lens). The rest all foolishly attempted by me in low light with no flash or with Tim’s P&S.

Leave a Reply

