Rebel.

I feel like the most spoiled gal ever. Monday night, as an early birthday present, Tim got me a new camera. A Canon Rebel T2i. I feel like I officially graduated from point & shoot and got into the Canon grad program. This thing is a beast compared to what I am used to. Needless to say, I have had an awesome few days getting to know my new toy.

Yesterday, I ended up getting locked out of the BOQ for SIX HOURS. I usually go for a walk in the afternoon while Tim is at work, and I always leave the door unlocked because I don’t have my own key yet. When I got back to the room after about 45 minutes, the door was locked. I think what happened was maintenance must have come to check the smoke detectors or something and locked it behind them, thinking they were doing us a favor. Oops. All I had on me was my new camera. No ID, no money, no phone, no chapstick, nothing. It almost goes without saying that last night was also one of the nights that Tim came home 2 hours late from work. Naturally.

Anyway, while I was wandering around outside for six bloody hours, I ended up taking about 600 photos and learning a lot about my new love. I am super impressed so far with what this thing can do, and that’s just with the kit lens (18-55mm f/3.5-5.6). I tried to keep it off the auto mode as much as possible so I could experiment with some of the manual settings. Here are some of my favorite shots from my journey yesterday.

I have a lot to learn about this thing. I can’t wait to take it to the zoo, around Columbia, and to England later this year. Now the problem is – how can I be expected to get any work done when I have a new camera to play with?!

Leave a Reply

